“You must not come lightly to the blank page.”

Ever have the realization that something you thought was so right was so wrong? While doing other writing work, I noticed a few things that caused me to question a recent work, a recent work I was pleased with. It had mistakes–too many to let stand.

Most here know this, but if you don’t, believe me when I say this is an incredible learning process, and the following is even more true: it’s worth it.

I am now finished, again, with a second draft. It is polished and shiny, and I now understand so much more about writing, not only creative writing, but grammar and punctuation, and I’m extremely pleased with the results.

There’s no doubt about it; writing is an art just like music is an art.

Stephen King had it right with his quote from ‘On Writing.’ a book I’m sure many have been inspired by.

“You must not come lightly to the blank page.”

Thanks, Steve. I’ll do my best.

Leave a Reply

