125 word short story. Testing the Waters.

Sonya walked along the edge of the marsh and reached for his hand. Standing there looking out over the glassy water, he felt her cool fingertips touch his and enclosed them.

“So, you really love me?” he asked.

“You should know better than to doubt me. My kisses never lie.”

Alex turned to test her words.

“I believe you, but you do know if I thought otherwise you’d go straight into the swamp.”

He hadn’t cracked a smile, and she wondered if he were joking or not, but she decided he had to be. I know him better than that, she thought. She raised on tiptoe to reassure him.

Their lips parted, and he stared over her shoulder at the still black water.

“Dear, Sonya.”

Leave a Reply

