I Have to Believe

When the grenade exploded, he never knew what hit him. The blast lifted him off his feet, hot shrapnel ripped his young body, and he fell. The snowy ground received him, wrapped him in a blanket of quiet, and except for the sound of blood gurgling in his own throat, the woods were silent.

Time stopped, a snowflake hung in mid-air, and at that very moment he wanted nothing more than to take it in his palm and watch it melt away, its soul transforming with death.

He blinked once, twice, and she called to him, I have to believe I’ll see you again, I have to believe I’ll see you again, I have to believe …

2 thoughts on “I Have to Believe

    • Thanks, Darla. It’s somewhat related to my first novel, the one “that’s not right for the market at this time,” according to the agents I have submitted it to. Honestly, with what I have learned about writing, it probably needs another edit, but my time is so limited I have to stay with one project at the time. One day, maybe.

      Like

Leave a Reply

