To all mothers…

Mothers come in all forms. Mothers, of course, are mothers. Single father’s exist who take their place as best they can, and so do grandmothers and great grandmothers. Though motherly love occurs across many boundaries, because love has no boundaries, it is undeniable that blood, DNA, whatever you care to call it, provides a truly special link between biological mothers and their children. At the same time it saddens me how too many mothers are anything but mothers, choosing self over child, ignoring physical needs and care as well as emotional, which, I think, is why so many children are raised without the sense of self-worth necessary to believe they can reach lofty goals in life.
Thankfully, I don’t personally know any mothers like that…anything but. Yes, I miss my mother. Miss her smile, her knowing looks, her grin and chuckle. However I am proud of the mother my daughter has become, and I know where many of her motherly traits come from.
To all mothers today, your day, happy Mother’s Day. Thank you for all you do, including your sacrifices. May this day be filled with peace, and if you must kiss a scraped knee, wipe a runny nose, or comfort your tearful child for some unknown sadness, I am sure you will do so with a heart full of love.

